In the framework of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization, a Eurasian political, economic and security alliance comprising 6 nations along the former silk road, China has opened the 5th technology transfer center in Qingdao on an area of 20,000 m2. The centers are under the administration of the Ministry of Science and Technology and intended to foster international technology transfer and jointly seek new engines for economic growth.

Xinhua news release, December 11, 2020